DISCLAIMER BEFORE READING: I DO NOT OWN ANY PHOTO IN THIS ARTICLE. 

I was going to write a rather long article on Yams and pack it with a boat load of information but I’ll save that for another day. Today is about remembrance. 
With that in mind, I am going to share the impact Yams had on me. 

When I was first was put on to A$AP Rocky, I only heard small talk of A$AP Yams, A$AP Ferg, and A$AP Nast. I had no idea about any of the other members. That was until the first song I had heard was “Goldie” by A$AP Rocky and I instantly became a fan. I looked more into his [A$AP Rocky] music and my respect and love for his work went higher. Hearing all of the project “LONG.LIVE.A$AP.” I did some research. After a couple hours, I was introduced to the entire A$AP Mob and had also learned about the significance of A$AP Yams. 


Acting as the executive producer for the same Rocky project I was put on to, I was curious to what else he was doing. After keeping close watch on A$AP Mob over a few months, I found an interview that Complex Magazine had done with the A$AP Mob. Yams spoke on his role. 

“My focus is to take A$AP to the next level. I want A$AP to be the next Def Jam or Universal or LaFace Records or something like that. I’m just the motherfucker that connects the dots. I handle all the day-to-day shit. I make sure Rocky’s got his shit right. I’m the executive producer of A$AP. I handpicked every beat on that motherfucking album for him to rock with. I pretty much gave him the sound for that shit. I play the back, at all times. You don’t even have to worry about me. I’m not trying to be crazy with it, but if a motherfucker needs some ad-libs, holler at me.”

You can read the full interview by clicking HERE


I was inspired so unbelievably quick. What A$AP Yams in life and death did with A$AP Mob is exactly what I want to do with Orange Peel, take it to the next level, make it the next Def Jam, and be the one connecting the dots and calling shots – pardon for that lame rhyme right here – he was a creative business magnate for the entire A$AP Mob. 

 I’m 19 now and at the time of that Complex interview in 2012 he was 23. Knowing now that he achieved a great amount of what he wanted to do at such a young age really shows me that this life is possible. All of the ‘Mob members have achieved many things since really hitting the scene, tours, top album releases, number one songs, highly successful clothing lines, well known producers, known by and respected the greats, and much more. Through life and death A$AP Yams made an impact on not only A$AP Mob but countless other individuals, some famous and some still planning the come up. 

Like I mentioned in the previous paragraph, Yams had shown me that any thing is possible. Keep your crew tight, keep the business right, and always remain real with yourself & your team. I met A$AP Ant in Wilmington, DE, back earlier this year at the Weird N Awful music festival hosted by Rakeem Miles. A$AP Ant’s set was canceled for some unknown reasons by the venue so he was unable to perform. Through the frustration I had stopped Ant and verbally paid my respects to Yams. He [A$AP Ant] thanked me, said much love to me and gave me a handshake. 

In 2016 A$AP Mob released their second group project titled “Cozy Tapes Vol. 1: Friends”. Many members have said that the project is entirely for Yams and it’s what he would’ve wanted. You can listen to the album via Apple Music by clicking HERE

Thank you to not only A$AP Yams but the entire A$AP Mob for inspiring the absolute fuck out of me to keep going. If any of you ever read this, keep the grind high and I apologize sincerely for the loss of your brother. 

Yamborghini High – A tribute song to A$AP Yams. 

“…It’s always been music for me since day one.” – A$AP Yams

Excerpt from the 2012 Complex Magazine interview with A$AP Mob. 

